Year	Repri- manded		Probation of Court		Protection of Parents		Fined or Made Res- titution		Detained In- definitely		Sent to Training School		Final Dis- position Suspended		Corporal Punish- ment	
	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.
1944	395 352 233 182 248	3.9 3.0 2.4	2,780 2,698 2,291 2,273 2,201		109 67 69	$1 \cdot 2 \\ 0 \cdot 8 \\ 0 \cdot 9$	2,547 2,367 1,854 2,116 1,850	25.7 26.6 23.6 28.1 25.8	92 65 53 40 47	0.7 0.7 0.5	1,376 1,348 1,180 1,108 1,120	$15 \cdot 1$ $15 \cdot 0$ $14 \cdot 7$	2,551 1,947 2,150 1,733 1,622	$25 \cdot 7$ $21 \cdot 9$ $27 \cdot 4$ $23 \cdot 0$ $22 \cdot 7$	64 23 28 24 12	0.2
1949 1950 1951 1952 1952 1953		5.5 4.6 4.0	2,141 2,392 2,313 2,412 2,620	37-3 34-8 39-8	94 154 148	$1 \cdot 4 \\ 2 \cdot 3 \\ 2 \cdot 4$	1,655 1,148 1,433 1,015 1,147	26.7 17.9 21.6 16.7 18.0	39 26 45 1 28	0·4 0·7	1,036 1,144 1,141 1,152 1,107	17.8 17.2 19.0	$\substack{1,029\\1,257\\1,247\\1,095\\1,062}$	19.6 18.7 18.1	3 2 2	0. 0.

31.—Disposition of Delinquents by Type of Sentence 1944-53 Norm.—See headnote to Table 22, p. 331.

Section 4.—Police Forces

The Police Forces operating in Canada are organized under three groups: (1) the Federal Force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police whose operations cover a very wide field in addition to purely police work; (2) Provincial Police Forces — the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have organized their own Provincial Forces, but the other provinces engage the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their boundaries; (3) Municipal Police—every city of reasonable size has its own police organization which is paid for by the local taxpayers and which attends to police matters within the borders of the municipality concerned.

Subsection 1.- The Royal Canadian Mounted Police*

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a Civil Force maintained by the Federal Government. Organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, its duties were confined to what was then known as the North West Territories. By 1904 the work of the Force received signal recognition when the prefix "Royal" was bestowed upon it by King Edward VII. In 1905 when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted Provinces an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each Province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This arrangement was continued until 1917.

In 1918 the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of enforcing Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of World War I an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and therefore the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., was absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Organization.—The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (the Minister of Justice). Its Commissioner has the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from serving noncommissioned officers. The Force is divided into 17 Divisions, including the Marine Division with Headquarters at Ottawa, Ont. There are 613 detachments distributed over the entire country. Its land force transportation consists of 1,359 motor vehicles, most of

^{*} Revised by Commissioner L. H. Nicholson, M.B.E., Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Ottawa.